Panel on GST Appellate Tribunal formed, report by month-end

The Goods and Services Tax (GST) Council has set up a six-member group of ministers (GoM), headed by Haryana deputy chief minister Dushyant Chautala, to decide on the framework and to suggest legal changes for setting up the GST Appellate Tribunal (GSTAT).

The other members of the GoM are Andhra Pradesh finance minister Buggana Rajendranath, Goa industries minister Mauvin Godinho, Rajasthan law and legal affairs minister Shanti Kumar Dhariwal, Uttar Pradesh finance minister Suresh Khanna and Odisha finance minister Niranjan Pujari.

As per the terms of reference of the GoM, the panel will recommend required amendments to the GST law to ensure that the legal provisions maintain the right federal balance and are in line with the overall objective of uniform taxation in the country.

The 47th GST Council, chaired by finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman and comprising state ministers, had last month decided to constitute a GoM to address various concerns raised by the states in relation to the constitution of the GSTAT.

JETRise MSME Day 2022 Mega Conclave with Industry Leaders. Watch Now.

Source link

Spread the word!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *